Meet Me at the Cross, and beyond…

by Sam Warren

For the past month we have been on a journey. It has been our goal to meet together both figuratively and literally around the cross. We know that the real cross of Jesus was erected many years ago, but by faith we can come to the cross and experience in a fresh, new way the impact of the cross.

I hope and pray that your time around the cross has been an enlightening and encouraging experience. It is my prayer that God has revealed to you many things about your personal walk with the Lord, whether it be things to confess or a deeper level of understanding what God has done for you because of Christ’ work on the cross.

I also pray that your movement toward the cross has been encouraging in terms of thanksgiving and praise, which comes from realizing how much Christ has accomplished for you and for me. The end result for me has been a keen awareness, like Paul, that I have nothing to boast about when it comes to my status before God. It is all about what Christ has done.

The apostle Paul put it this way, “But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world” (Galatians 6:14). And earlier in his writing Paul declared this truth, “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me (Galatians 2:20).

As we prepare to close out our annual Prayer Emphasis month, may our journey toward the cross be more than a mere reflection upon what Christ has done for us, but rather, the beginning of a deeper commitment to live in light of the theological and practical implications of what Christ has done in our lives.

This entry was posted in 2016 Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

